college of education | fall 2001

Back to Contents |

May Commencement Honors Graduates

Hundreds of students received degrees at the College of Education’s commencement ceremonies in May at the MSU Auditorium.

Dr. E. Sharon Banks, superintendent of the Lansing Public Schools, delivered the keynote address.

“Your newest beginning lies just ahead,” Banks told the graduates. “You are about to become those who will affect change, touch lives, strengthen purpose, and enrich the educational environment.

“I congratulate you for choosing education, and starting on such a wonderful journey.”

In all, more than 500 students in the College of Education received bachelor’s degrees in May. The college also hosted a convocation at Erickson Hall to recognize graduate students receiving their master’s, specialist, and doctoral degrees.

Of the 7,000 students honored at commencement, 1,800 completed degrees at the graduate level. More than 15 percent of those earning master’s and doctoral degrees were students from the College of Education. The college awarded 277 master’s degrees, 8 specialist degrees, and 59 doctoral degrees.

At commencement, several seniors were recognized for special achievement. Five students received College of Education Scholastic Achievement Awards for having the highest grade-point averages in their respective programs.

  • Maureen M. Juett majored in elementary education, and had a 4.0 grade point average. She is from Rockford, Michigan. Juett carried the college’s banner at the Undergraduate Convocation.

  • Gina Hetherington majored is audiology and speech science and secondary education, and had a 4.0 grade point average. She is from DeWitt, Michigan.

  • Cristi Dikeou majored in kinesiology, and had a 3.82 grade point average. She is from Wixom, Michigan.

  • Devorah Adler majored in special education with an endorsement in deaf education, and had a 3.95 grade point average. She is from Bloomfield Hills, Michigan.

  • Laura R. Truesdell majored in child development, and had 3.88 grade point average. She is from Milford, Michigan.

In addition, Kelly Colombo, who majored in elementary education, was honored with the College of Education Service Award for her commitment and involvement in helping further the college’s mission and initiatives. The college also recognized Elizabeth Aubrey, who majored in Spanish, and Genevieve Tara Web, who majored in elementary education, for their service on the Senior Class Council. The council serves as the voice of the senior class and coordinates activities such as a career conference, and outstanding senior, faculty and staff awards.

Counseling, Educational Psychology and Special Education

Counselor Education
Nancy E. Bodenhorn  Robbie Steward
Counseling Psychology
Brooke VanBuren-Hay Ken Rice
Sigrid Julian Dixon Lee June
Laura Sherry Hubner Fred Lopez
Educational Psychology
Glenda Ann Breaux  P. Peterson
James Alma Erekson P. David Pearson
Mark A. Girod David Wong
Mark Gover James Gavelek
Kara L. Lycke P. David Pearson
Michael J. Pardales David Wong
Lina Wu  Leighton Prince
Measurement and Quantitative Methods
H. Gary Cook William Mehrens
Diane R. Garavaglia Irv Lehmann
Jong-Pil Kim William Schmidt
Wei Pan Ken Frank
Elena C. Papanastasiou Mark Reckase
Rehabilitation Counselor Education
Chandra M. Donnell Mike Leahy
Ronald J. Harkness Nancy Crewe, 
Mike Leahy
George P. Parris Nancy Crewe
Frances J. Saroki Mike Leahy
School Psychology
Elizabeth Ann Rose Betsy Becker
Special Education
Ruth A. Wiebe Berry Carol Sue Englert
Educational Administration
K–12 Educational Administration
Karen L. Estep Maenette Benham
Cheryl L. King  Maenette Benham
Randy A. Liepa  David Plank
Michael G. Marshall Maenette Benham
E. Renée Sanders-Lawson Maenette Benham
Maribel A. F. Sevilla David Plank
Higher, Adult, Lifelong Education
Joseph J. Brocato John Dirkx
D. Scott Dixon Ann Austin
Sharon George Marylee Davis
Janet Ellen Gray John Dirkx
Linda S. Gross Rob Rhoads
Jessica Kovan John Dirkx
J. Greg Merritt Ann Austin
Apipa Prachyapruit Ann Austin
Kevin Alexander Pollock Jim Fairweather
Jennifer Butler Wimbish Kay Moore
James Albert Afremow Deborah Feltz
Karin M. Allor Jim Pivarnik
Saidon Amri John Haubenstricker
Claudia A. Angeli Diane Ulibarri, Robert Soutes-Little
Sean P. Cumming Martha Ewing
M. Kathleen Ellis  Gail Dummer
Lori A. Gano-Overway Martha Ewing
Peter J. Morano Robert Malina, 
Deb Feltz
Sally E. Nogle Gail Dummer
Roop Chand Jayaraman Jean Foley
Rene Revis Shingles Yevonne Smith
Teacher Education
Curriculum, Teaching, and educational policy
Jennifer I. Berne Susan Florio-Ruane
David M. Carroll  Cheryl Rosaen
Gaston Dembele Laura Roehler
Timothy M. Frusti Helen Featherstone
Tangeni C. Iijambo  Doug Campbell, David Plank
Paula J. Lane Kathy Roth, 
Lynne Paine
Gwendolyn Thompson McMillon Pat Edwards
Lillian T. Muofhe Lynn Paine
Letina Ngwenya Jim Gallagher
Patricia J. Norman Patricia J. Norman
Pamela L. Ross Susan Melnick
Teka Wakjira  Jack Schwille
Rodney Williams  Linda Anderson

Back to Contents